Austin Perfect (a five year old perfect Angel now)

Austin Perfect

(This poem is dedicated to Austin who was five years old and the son of my daughter’s boyfriend who just passed away after being sick with a brain tumor for most of his life. His Dad always said he was perfect even though he had a defect. They gave him a print of his footprints after he died three days ago. My daughter asked me to write a poem for his Dad to somehow give him comfort and to be read for the funeral.  This poem made me cry myself as I was writing it.  I never knew the little boy, but I cannot even imagine how horrible it must feel to lose a child. It made me realize that my problems that I thought I had are Very Small in comparison!  For Little Ausin;)

AUSTIN PERFECT

A perfect child was born

The day that Austin came to me

God lent me an angel for a while

To always make me smile

Some said that he had a defect

But when I looked at him

I only saw a child that was perfect

Even though he suffered so

His smile never left his face

As he longed for an embrace

Somehow he knew

That he was only here for a while

To make us all smile

Now he suffers no more.

He is cradled in God’s embrace,

And the angel’s sing him a lullaby.

He now has a joyful smile on his face,

Though I’ll miss him, I know,

That somehow I’ll see him one day,

As I kneel down to pray,

The tears come falling down.

I thought I heard him say,

Daddy don’t cry.

I didn’t die.

I will always be here with you.

I am your guardian angel walking besides you.

My footprints will be there too,

And always on your heart!

by Giovanna Sclafani Jan.23,2013  Copyright 2013

Image

Leave a Reply

