Under my feet

 

Oh, child so sweet

once you were under my feet

following me all day long

grasping on my dress hem

watching out the window

as I left for work some days

felt guilty as I went away

seeing you tearful face

Now my child you are grown

with a life of your own

you no longer cling to my dress

I watched in the window

that day, I must confess

my eyes teared up

as you left home

I had to let you free

no longer tied to me

sometimes I wish

you were still only three

clinging and following me

Now as you go away

all I can do is pray

that the angels are with you all day

protecting and guiding you

as you go

mom has to let you go

Leave a Reply

