Sculpture of Love

Poem by G. Marie Clay (c.) Copyright 2010

 

With these hands I mold your image

with clay I  play

and a fine knife to carve your features

with all the love I have today

the image I wish to portray

strike a pose

let me remember always your face so dear

to behold when you are not here

as the artists hand gently creates

images that they make

how can I but recreate the beauty

the image before my eyes

for in your heart your beauty lies

i can carve your body

but not your soul

I look closely at the statue I made

of my love

and put on the finishing touches

puzzled, i realize something is wrong

of course it’s the heart of stone

this i cannot clone

i walk away with a sigh

for a statue cannot cry

Leave a Reply

